100% Satisfaction Guarantee
BBB Accredited Business

Call us today

Our Reviews

Whalen Exteriors IconWhalen Exteriors

1360 4th Avenue, Arnold

4.9 69 reviews

  • Avatar Robin Bush ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    We recently had our roof and gutters replaced by Whalen Exteriors. Shawn was great to work with from start to finish. The comprehensive and clear proposal he submitted was very impressive, the most professional we have seen. Communication … More from start to finish was excellent.
    Chuck, Kenny, Mike and the rest of the crew are hard working and knowledgeable pros. Their attention to detail is impressive and they thoroughly cleaned up when finished. On top of all this they are all great guys, courteous, friendly and accommodating.
    The quality of their work is impeccable. They use quality materials and don't cut corners. We give them our highest recommendation.
  • Avatar Guy Buccigrossi ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    We had a porch structure built on the back of our house by the Whalen Team. The experience could not have been better. The team arrived everyday on time and were great workers, always professional in addition to taking a great deal of pride … More in the work they performed. Any future needs we will most definitely call the Whalen team.
  • Avatar Dawn Cinker ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Shawn Whalen and his whole team were a pleasure to work with on our roofing and siding project. They were professional and did excellent work, always cleaning up the jobsite as they went along and before they left each night. They were … More efficient and each team member knew what they had to do to get the job completed in the time that was needed. I highly recommend Whalen Contracting. Thank you Shawn!
  • Avatar Bill Smoote ★★★★★ 4 months ago
    On time, reasonable prices. They treated me like I was the most important job they had at the time. They arrived when they said they would and finished when they said they would. They cleaned everything up and made sure I was happy.
  • Avatar Barbara Phillips ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    From beginning to end was nothing but professional…. The roofers were polite and respectful of my surrounding lawn and objects . My roof has a lot of peeks which I thought would be difficult , but they moved quickly with much knowledge. … More The price and quality of work was excellent. Please do not hesitate with this company- you will be very pleased 😊Services: Roof installation, Skylight installation
  • Avatar Tameka King-Buchak ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    The Whalen’s are a top-notch contracting company. My husband and I envisioned a deck extension off of our home. Whalen’s Contracting made our vision come to life. Mike, Shawn, Chuck, Kenny, and the rest of the Whalen team, are professional, … More meticulous, creative, and efficient with their work. The Whalen’s have years of experience, that is definitely noticed with their quality of work. We are 100% pleased with our new deck addition and would highly recommend this company to everyone!
  • Avatar Frank Lemon ★★★★★ 5 months ago
    In early morning hours of April 8, 2020, a rain storm with tornadic winds struck our home and ripped shingles off our roof in two places and with more storms predicted , we had to get the shingles replaced immediately. We called several … More contractors and no one answered , I called Michael F. Whalen Contracting, he answered and came to our aid that afternoon, he sized up the job , gave us an estimate and said he would have his craftsmen there the following morning if we wanted, we said yes. The next morning they arrived, with equipment and materials, matched up and installed the shingles, cleaned up the area and we were very satisfied with his quality work.Services: Roof repair for storm & wind damage, Roof repair
  • Avatar Mary Ann Baranowski ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    Shawn was great to work with. Recently, I had a new roof installed and he was able to answer all of my questions. Shawn and his crew were professional and courteous. The roof looks beautiful, and I’ve had many compliments. I look … More forward to working with Shawn and his crew on future projects.
  • Avatar Dee Macklin ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    I got a quick and fair quote on replacing the roof on my house and my garage. The work was done in 1 day in March of 2020 and looks great. I would highly recommend them.
  • Avatar Crystal Magness ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    We are so happy with Michael F. Whalen Construction. We reached out to them about putting a new roof on our home and they responded immediately. They gave us samples to choose from and once we made our decision we were put on their schedule. … More Within days they arrived, finished the job in two days and took great care in leaving our yard as it was. Our home looks beautiful with our new roof. Everyone was so pleasant to work with. We will definitely be recommending you to all our friends and family.
  • Avatar Anthony Campana ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    Whalen Contracting is the best of the best. I called them to install a new roof on a rental property and they had it removed and replaced in a matter of 2 days. Their skillset is second to none. Very professional and very clean. They … More did a fantastic job. Shawn was very informative of the process, Great guy. I will be a repeat customer.
  • Avatar Dave Wasilowski ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    Shawn,Chuck,Cory,Andrew and the amazing roofing crew did a fantastic job from start to finish I would highly recommend this contracting companyServices: Skylight installation, Attic venting, Roof installation
  • Avatar Anne Byrnes ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Shawn Whalen and his professional crew replaced not only the roof on our home but all the skylights, gutters, trim and siding. My husband and I were in awe of the quality of their work and their work ethic. The job exceeded our expectations … More and was done to perfection. Shawn's extensive construction experience along with his knowledge of materials and products were of great benefit. The entire exterior of our home has been transformed thanks to Shawn and his men. It's beautiful. Michael F. Whalen Contracting is a family owned business that is honest, experienced, professional, and produces outstanding results. Without hesitation we highly recommend them to all.Services: Skylight installation, Gutter installation, Attic venting, Roof installation
  • Avatar Geoffrey Trees ★★★★★ a year ago
    My wife and I just recently moved into a new home. The house was in overall good condition but one of the things it needed was a new roof. We reached out to a few vendors to get quotes on a new roof, gutters, and downspouts. By far, … More Whalen provided the best proposal. We are more than happy with the outcome. The team was extremely professional, answered all my questions to satisfaction, and left us extremely happy with the quality of the install. We have already recommended them to our neighbors who have asked about our roof. Go with Whalen and you won't be disappointed! We plan to use them on our next project.Services: Gutter installation, Roof installation
  • Avatar Rosie Korber ★★★★★ a year ago
    A wonderful experience with Whalen contracting putting on a new front porch for me. Very professional!! Changed the whole look of the front of my house, very pleased with the outcome. Shawn and Chuck and crew did an amazing job and I … More would highly recommend them!!
  • Avatar S Simcic ★★★★★ a year ago
    I cannot overstate the level of satisfaction we have experienced working with Shawn to have a new roof and siding installed on our home. His knowledge and professionalism were outstanding. I've had to deal with many contractors over … More the years and while I would consider myself lucky to have had many more good ones then not so good, it's a true pleasure when you find one that is so easy to work with, always considerate, hard working and always willing to go the extra mile to please his customer. Especially, when you make such a large investment into your home. The finishes look great! Thank you Shawn for a reasonable price and providing a well qualified crew to complete the project. It was so well worth it. I know we'll be in touch again for the next project.Services: Gutter installation, Attic venting, Roof installation, Roof inspection, Gutter repairs
  • Avatar M J Pavlik ★★★★★ a year ago
    I had a repair that needed to be done before the winter set in, namely, repair/replacement of substantial fascia that had blown off one side of my home. A section of this fascia was at an extreme height, 45 ft or so.The service was a-one … More from the very first phone call to the company to the completion of the job. The scheduling via phone was done by Karina in a prompt, professional and courteous manner. When Shawn and Chuck came to perform the repair, they were extremely professional, knowledgeable, skilled, courteous and very efficient. I intend to use them on all future roofing, remodeling, etc. projects, and suggest that you consider them highly when you are choosing your contaractor. I don't think you will be disappointed.Service: Roof repair for storm & wind damage
  • Avatar Sharon Lippert ★★★★★ a year ago
    I hired Whalen contracting to install roof on shed and soffit/fascia/gutters on house. I am very pleased. They did an excellent job. They have great work ethics and are very nice guys. I plan to hire them for inside work too.Services: Gutter … More installation, Roof installation, Remodeling
  • Avatar Susan Dale ★★★★★ a year ago
    Shawn Whalen and his crew did a great job. They came in, evaluated the damage and provided a very detailed report as to what work would be completed and the cost. In just 1 day, they completed an entire roof replacement along with the … More repair of a front porch that was damaged from a tree. Very professional and the service was outstanding. Will definitely use them again in the future. Thanks again Shawn and take care.Services: Gutter installation, Roof installation, Roof repair for storm & wind damage, Roof repair
  • Avatar Len Rust ★★★★★ a year ago
    Shawn was very patient and helpful as we were making our decisions , he provided some great recommendations. We were looking to get new siding ( Everlast Siding), which was a product many contractors have never installed. Shawn was familiar … More with the product and very excited to install it. We needed a new roof, skylight, soffit, fascia, and gutters. Also a new trex front porch. We had part of our back deck removed and new steps added. Did I say patient... a few times we asked Shawn if we could add on an item, and it was always not a problem.I can’t say enough about his team, respectful, timely, hard working, they cleaned up every day.We were very pleased with the results, and would recommend Shawn and his crew!!Services: Gutter installation, Skylight installation, Roof installation, Remodeling
  • Avatar Linda L ★★★★★ a year ago
    We have had Shawn and his awesome crew do a few jobs at our home and could not be more please with the results. The quality and professionalism you receive from Whalen Contracting is outstanding, and the guidance they provided from their … More years of experience in helping us choose material and design on our deck was invaluable.Services: Roof installation, Remodeling
  • Avatar Karen thomas ★★★★★ a year ago
    Whalen Contracting is top notch. Shawn came over the morning after a tornado went through the area causing a tree to go through my roof. He took pictures for my insurance company and took care of getting the roof covered until the roof … More could be replaced. When the crew replaced the roof they were professional and had it done in a timely manner. Whalen Contracting will always be my go to contracting company.Services: General door installation, Roof installation
  • Avatar Alissa Padovano ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    We had a great experience getting our roof redone! Michael responded to my inquiry quickly and the crew completed the job in a day. The price was fair and the work was exceptionally done. I highly recommend Michael F. Whalen Contracting! … More
  • Avatar Patrick Weber ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    The Whalen contracting crew recently completed a new roof install at my house. I am nothing but happy with the finished product. From the beginning of the process to the end, Shawn made sure things were completed in a professional manner … More and made sure that all the little things were taken care once the job was complete.
  • Avatar Brian Marzullo ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    This is my second time using Whalen Construction for my home improvement needs. The team was professional and helpful to a homeowner who knows nothing about home improvements. I'm super happy with the seamless gutter installation … More and will be using them again for my next major project windows!
  • Avatar Brandon Keller ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    After a water damage incident, we were left with a kitchen that was essentially useless. The prospect of gutting it and getting a brand new kitchen was daunting, especially with a one-year-old at home. Mike Whalen Contracting did a great … More job for us, their pricing was very fair, and they did everything they could to move the process along as quickly as possible. They also had great attention to detail, making sure the work was done correctly and beautifully the first time. I highly recommend these guys. We love our new kitchen!
  • Avatar Sharon Davison ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    I would like to thank Michael Whalin construction company for a great and speedy job of replacing my roof. The crew was excellent very neat and professional and fast 1 1/2 days and they were done. Cleaned everything up and left nothing … More for me to do. All great guys and all hustlers couldn’t be happier of the great job they did. PS. All great looking guys too
  • Avatar Star Laliberte ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    My husband and I are beyond pleased with the work done by Wahlen Contracting! We called Mike after a recent storm had caused a fair amount of damage to our roof. He came the same day to give us an estimate, and had materials delivered the … More day after we accepted his proposal. His crew was here by the end of that same week. They did an exceptional job for a great price. We couldn't be more happy with the final product, and time in which the job was completed.
  • Avatar Pamela Polas ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    If you want quality and professional service Michael F. Whalen Contracting is who you should call! Michael guides you through the process and gets what will be needed for the job. His son Shawn helps with the labor also overseeing the … More business....assuring his team are early to begin and prompt on time. They finished our roof the next day because they have such good work ethic. They also deal with integrity in regards to cost. Many thanks for a great job done!
  • Avatar Jennifer Fantuzzo ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Shawn and his crew were very professional and super quick at getting everything repaired. He was ready to go as soon as Allegheny was put into the green phase and the door and broken window he replaced look perfect. Super happy with the … More electronic invoice too, so much better than waiting on the check to clear.
  • Avatar Ben Abate ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Hired Michael F Whalen Contracting to install a new roof on our house. The men were professional and respectful of our property. Cleaned up the yard and driveway continually as they worked. This is not the first time hiring Michael … More F Whalen Contracting and it won’t be the last. They not only do professional work they look like professional with well kept vehicles and attire which reflects in their work.Ben A.
  • Avatar Denise Acone ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Shawn and crew replaced my roof that had storm damage. He worked hard with the insurance adjuster which was not an easy time. They are professional, hard working, polite, honest. Got the roof done in two days. Cleaned everything up completely. … More Would highly recommend Whalen Constructing.
  • Avatar Patty Stewart ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Excellent work by Mike and his crew. They just finished putting a covered porch on our home and we couldn’t be happier. Mike and his workers were always prompt, very neat and incredibly courteous. The work was very fairly priced and we … More are very pleased with the finish product. Mike executed our vision perfectly and we’d highly recommend him and his crew for any one in the area. Thank you to Mike, Shawn and their staff on a job well done.
  • Avatar Mick Davison ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Wanted to express my pleasure of a job well done by Michael Whalen Construction. The crew was here on the day they said they would be to replace my roof. These guys are hustlers! In 1 1/2 days they completely removed my roof and reshingled. … More They also cleaned up very nicely and were very considerate of the plants around the house. The job is great and we are very happy! I will let others know about you guys. Also kudos to Shawn for leading the job! I thank you all! Mick
  • Avatar DJ McClaine ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Michael F Whalen Contracting and son Shawn with their crew installed a permanent patio roof. The permanent patio roof had a top quality shingles installed with a finished ceiling, rapped beams and columns plus two outdoor ceiling fans … More with lights. Mike Walden with one of his crew worker came to my place to give in person site survey an take my ideas for my vision to draw up plans for the materials needed an the final job bid. Michael Whalen son Shawn Whalen as job site supervisor runs a tight crew who arrive early on time an ready to do their jobs as professionals. I was very happy with their work and clean up. I wish I knew of them before to do my other work. I highly recommend them for their work, professionalism and courtesy.I look forward to them installing my new roof, 6 inches gutters and downspouts this coming spring 2020!
  • Avatar Megan McHugh ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Wonderful contractors! I cannot say enough about what a great job they did replacing our roof and exterior siding. Whalen Contracting checks all the boxes - - professional; timely; good price; and excellent quality. They did the work … More quickly and left the site spotless afterward. Also, working with Sean was great. He provided us a lot of needed guidance on exactly what we needed and how to make our money go as far as possible. I highly recommend Whalen Contracting.
  • Avatar Kalieb Hines ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Can’t say enough about Shawn and Whalen Contracting!!! Excellent, professional and beautiful work.. I had my entire roof replaced in ONE day! There is no better feeling than going to work with one roof and returning home with a new roof … More completely finished..clean up was excellent and no debris was left for me to handle. Top notch company and workers..Shawn kept me informed throughout the entire job and I was able to observe the progress being made on my roof from work through photos sent by Shawn! Again..can’t say enough and if there were a 10 star rating their would get 15 from me! Would highly recommend their services and will 100% use them again. Thank you to Shawn and Whalen Contracting for excellent work!
  • Avatar Jennifer Fantuzzo ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Shawn and his crew were very professional and super quick at getting everything repaired. He was ready to go as soon as Allegheny was put into the green phase and the door and broken window he replaced look perfect. Super happy with the … More electronic invoice too, so much better than waiting on the check to clear. And their cleanup job was spotless ☺️
  • Avatar Tim Bragg ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Mike, his son Shawn, and their entire crew replaced our shingles, soffit, fascia, and some siding on a dormer. Their workmanship is some of the highest quality I've seen and they go above and beyond to make sure everything is done … More correctly the first time around. I would not hesitate to use them again for any project big or small and will recommend them to everyone I know. Even our neighbors were impressed with their work and professionalism and some of them wrote down their info for future reference.
  • Avatar Kurt Szymanski ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Very professional contractor. Did an excellent job on my roof. Highly recommend Michael F. Whalen contracting for any of your home improvement needs
  • Avatar George Hanlon ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    I would definitely recommend Whalen contracting for any remodeling needs that you may need done. They are honest, professional, and provide superior quality in the work that they do. I cannot say enough about the outstanding service.
  • Avatar pja724 ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    A true 2nd generation professional that takes pride in his craft and customer service - I can’t speak highly enough about Shawn and his crew. They were timely, clean, and very detail oriented from start to finish.I highly recommend the … More Whalen’s to anyone looking for new construction, rehab work, or updates - Shawn turned our outdated laundry and powder rooms into stylish and efficient spaces that support the needs of our growing family.I knew the Whalen’s were good, but they honestly exceeded my expectations!- Philip Ameris, Jr.
  • Avatar Shirley zawrotny ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Michael F Whalen contracting has done a numerous amount of work at my home.This past summer they put a new roof on my home and detached garage. The work was completed in less that a day and a half. The crew were very professional, neat, … More as i did not find one nail laying in my yard. Everything was completely cleaned up. In the past 10 years, they have turned a porch into a tv room, with hard wood floors and wainscoting on the walls and ceiling. Anyone that sees this room comments on how nice it is. They removed a small wall in my kitchen the past month and reframed it and put hardwood flooring to match the rest of my hardwood, as there was no hardwood under the wall that was removed. it turned out beautiful. I never request any quotes from any other contractors as i will always use Michael F. Whalen contracting, no matter the project. Excellent work always.
  • Avatar Lindsay Olesak ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    I would highly recommend Whalen Construction. Michael, his son Shawn and the entire team were excellent. They were in communication with me throughout the entire process, very detailed, hardworking and just seemed like great people who … More take pride in their work. They added the addition of a dormer to my house and I could not be happier with their work. They really maximized the space in a way I didn't even think was possible. I found Whalen Construction on Angie's list and was worried about using someone that I did not know or had a recommendation for. I have since recommended them to friends and family and will use them again should I have the need.
  • Avatar Brian Marzullo ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    I had roof damage from a terrible hail storm last year. I lost shingles, an exhaust fan, and had a small leak coming into my attic.I contacted Whalen Construction, and within a few short hours, they were on site assessing the damage and … More providing me all the details I needed to fill out the insurance requirements. Once the insurance approved Whalen Construction fit me in right away and had my new roof installed within a day and a half.If you want excellent customer service, quality work at an affordable price these are the guys!Thanks again Whalen Construction!
  • Avatar Jamie Tinnemeyer ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    From start to finish, this was a great experience. Mike was quick with responding to calls and emails, and patient and helpful when we were making decisions. Shawn and his entire crew were one of the most hard working group of men we … More have encountered. They were timely, respectful, and kept us informed of their progress. Their work was phenomenal, and they paid attention to every detail. The property was cleaned up daily, and they even put our porch furniture back in place! We love our roof, porch, and all of the work done. Thanks so much!
  • Avatar Cindy Gralewski ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Excellent! I can't say enough good about the service this company provided. We had a total roof replacement, ridge vents installed, attic fans, downspouts and gutter guards. From the time I called, their quick response back, came out … More within the time window we scheduled, and provided us with an estimate. Once we accepted, they came when they said they would and completed the job in the time frame they told us. So impressed with the crew. Very professional, timely, went right to work. Everyone knew their job and you didn't have instructions being shouted back and forth. Same crew came each day. Cleaned up each day and left our place looking great. We love our new roof. And Whalen Contracting is awesome!!
  • Avatar Gabbi Rapp ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    We recently had our kitchen remodeled. Shawn, Chuck, and crew were very knowledgeable and helpful every step of the way. They were very courteous and they made sure the area was clean when they left. Remodeling an old house is very unpredictable … More and stressful they were patient and handled all our questions and concerns. They turned an old dreary 70's kitchen into a bright and modern beautiful addition to our home. I can't say enough about them and how they guided us through the whole project including dealing with the suppliers. I highly recommend them and give them 5 plus stars. now I guess we have to do the bathroom now!
  • Avatar P Darsh ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    I used Whalen Construction for 2 remodeling projects on my house. From start to finish, they provided exemplary service. Shawn and his team showed up on time, worked diligently, didn't break anything and thoroughly cleaned up. Also, … More Shawn's exhaustive customer service communicated with me throughout the entire process, putting my concerns to bed. I would recommend them to anybody who is looking for quality work.

Hire A Team of Roofing Professionals
You Can Trust

As Pittsburgh's trusted contractor, we look forward to serving you. Our clients have trusted us with their residential, multifamily, and commercial roofs since 1982. We’re proud to bring care and integrity with our excellent installation and service.

We guarantee our workmanship for three years. Service is always 100%. Family. Integrity. Service.

Get a Free Estimate

Call Now ButtonTAP TO CALL NOW